1980s

David J. Butler, BSc’81
Toronto’s Dundurn Press has published In Rhino We Trust, the third novel in author Dave Butler’s award-winning Jenny Willson mystery series. Dave lives in Cranbrook, BC, and is a professional forester and biologist, a writer and photographer, and a fellow of the Royal Canadian Geographic Society. He was awarded the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee medal in 2012. The first in Butler’s series of Jenny Willson novels – Full Curl – was short-listed for the Kobo Emerging Writers Award in the mystery category, and won the coveted Arthur Ellis Award (Crime Writers of Canada) for Best First Crime Novel in Canada in 2018. The second — No Place for Wolverines — was named in 2018 as one of the “best new environmental books” by the prestigious US-based The Revelator website. In Rhino We Trust sees protagonist Jenny Willson on a secondment to Namibia, where she becomes embroiled in a case of rhino poaching – a case with connections to international crime syndicates and implications that cause her to question why she left the Rockies. A recent review of In Rhino We Trust by the American Librarian’s Association Booklist says that “Butler’s writing keeps getting stronger, too, as he gives Jenny more depth and opens up more windows into her personal life… This is a very good entry in a series that one hopes will continue for many years and that remains an ideal read-alike for Nevada Barr and Paul Doiron fans.”


Paige Larson (center)

Paige Larson, BPE’84
North Vancouver physiotherapist and businesswoman Paige Larson was proud to be selected as the chief therapist for the 151-strong Canadian team competing at the 2019 Parapan American Games in Lima, Peru, from August 23 to September 1. Larson owns and operates North Shore Sports Medicine and has provided physiotherapy support at events including the Vancouver 2010 Olympic and Paralympic Winter Games, the Paralympic Games in Beijing 2008, Athens 2004, and Sydney 2000. Larson led the 13-member therapy team caring for all Canadian athletes competing in 13 sports.


Katherine Munro, "Contractions" book cover

Katherine J. Munro, BA’82
Poet Katherine Munro, BA’82, who moved from Vancouver to the Yukon in 1991, publishes under the name kjmunro. Her debut collection, contractions (Red Moon Press, 2019), was launched in Whitehorse on April 17, 2019, which is International Haiku Poetry Day.


Patricia Tallman, BASc’81, PhD’85
Patricia Tallman has been interested in helping the environment since long before being “green” was an everyday term. After a career in academia and consulting, she came full circle, and began stressing the importance of global fresh water resources and the environment. This resulted in Tallman’s recent book The Restore-our-Planet Diet: Food Choices, our Environment, and our Health. The book is endorsed by leading experts in the fields of environment (climate change) and health (plant-based diet). Tallman has also written 10 op-ed pieces for the Vancouver Sun on the environmental and health benefits of a plant-based diet. She believes this is a timely topic and would like to expose a wider audience to this knowledge.


Janice Mayes, "Tinnitus Toolbox" book cover

Janice Mayes, BA’86, MSc’88
Jan L. Mayes has published her fifth book, Tinnitus Toolbox Hyperacusis Handbook (2019). The book is a health resource for homes, clinics, and libraries that covers guided self-help, professional treatments, clinical trials, and experimental research. It includes coping tools for people in the normal hearing, hearing loss, and deaf communities. Detailed chapters on noise damage, noise control, and hearing protection are based on Mayes’ career of over 30 years as an audiologist living with tinnitus and hyperacusis. Mayes recently joined the board of directors of the Right to Quiet Society, and is volunteering as their news editor and coordinator of forthcoming online noise education. For more information, visit quiet.org and www.janlmayes.com.


Teresa Robeson, BA’86
Teresa Robeson’s debut picture book, Queen of Physics: How Wu Chien Shiung Helped Unlock the Secrets of the Atom, will be released in fall 2019 (Sterling Publishing). The book addresses timely issues such as representation and women in STEM. Aside from Robeson’s connections to UBC — her husband is also an alumnus (MSc’87) — the subject of her book also had links to the university. Wu was a fellow grad student of and good friends with George Volkoff, who headed the UBC physics department (1961-1970) and then became dean of Science (1970-1979). More information about the book can be found here: https://www.edelweiss.plus/#keywordSearch&q=queen+of+physics&page=1. Robeson’s second picture book will be published in spring 2020 by Albert Whitman.


John MacKay, "Dziga Vertov: Life and Work" book cover

John K. Mackay, BA’87
John K. Mackay recently published the first volume of Dziga Vertov: Life and Work, a three-volume study of the life and times of the great Soviet filmmaker. Mackay is currently completing the “very short introduction” to film theory for Oxford University Press. He is professor of film and media studies and professor and chair of Slavic languages and literatures at Yale University, New Haven, Connecticut. More info: https://news.yale.edu/2019/08/12/yale-film-scholar-dziga-vertov-enigma-movie-camera?fbclid=IwAR2SdGCg-_KB_RsRMgI5JjLaHr7t4O7vudbzedn4IW_0cm-uaR9gxdXTs8g


Jason Farris, "It Takes 23 to Win: Building and Being Part of Great Hockey Teams" book cover

Jason Farris, BSc’89
NHL executive Jason Farris just published his fifth book, It Takes 23 to Win: Building and Being Part of Great Hockey Teams. The large-format book features 23 retired NHL players who assemble 23-person rosters of former teammates to compete in a fantasy playoff. Players provide candid, first-person stories and insight about competing to win with these teammates. The book examines the individuals who made up 12 exemplary Stanley Cup teams, delves into the leadership groups of eight storied international teams, and provides fresh perspectives from Hall of Famers and gold medallists in women’s and sledge hockey. The book is not available in stores and can only be found at www.23toWin.com

Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Please be aware that comments submitted through this form will appear publicly below this article. Comments may also be published in future print issues of Trek magazine.

Comments are moderated, and may take some time to appear.